SCHOOL BOARD LEGAL STATUS

Reference Code: BB

The Board of Education of the School District of Jefferson derives its authority to govern the local schools directly from the constitution of Wisconsin and the laws of the state of Wisconsin. In addition to the authority legally invested in the Board, the Board recognizes it has a responsibility to the citizenry it serves and the persons it employs to discharge its duties and obligations in a manner that will ensure the highest possible educational level of the citizens of the district.

The Board accepts its role as the policy-making body for the district and declares its intent to perform this function within the framework of the law and the will of the local citizenry.

The Board of Education shall consist of seven members, elected at large, by a plurality vote cast by the qualified electors of the district. To ensure district wide representation, Board members shall be elected to represent specific areas of the district as follows:

Area of Representation	Number of Representatives
City of Jefferson	1
Towns of Aztalan, Farmington, Jefferson, Hebron and Oakland	1
Village of Sullivan, towns of Sullivan and Concord	1
District-at-large	4

ADOPTED: June 23, 1980

REVISED: May 24, 1999

May 4, 2009

LEGAL REF.: Wisconsin Statutes: 120.06(6)(b)

120.41

120.42((1)(a)

Wisconsin Constitution: Article X, Section 3

REVIEW DATE: October 24, 2011